Wage Theft:

 

California provides a robust framework of laws that protect workers from wage theft.  Unfortunately, wage theft is still widespread in California.  California’s laws against wage theft include requirements that all employers: 

 

• Pay the minimum wage, which is currently $10.50 (for more on the minimum wage, click here);

• Pay for all work time, including downtime and "off-the-clock" work (for more information on compensable time click here);

• Pay overtime for overtime in excess of 8 hours in a day and 40 in a week and pay doubletime for hours worked in excess of 12 in a day (for more information on overtime/doubletime, click here);

• Maintain and provide required wage statements (also known as pay stubs) and payroll records may recover the greater of actual damages (for more information on wage statements, click here);

• Post notices of California’s wage and hour laws (for more information on notice requirements, click here);

• Provide meal and rest breaks (for more information on breaks, click here);

• Classify their employees correctly (for more information on misclassifications, click here);

• Reimburse business expenses (for more information on expense reimbursement, click here); and

• Provide Sick Pay (for more information on sick pay, click here).

 


If you are an employee who has been subjected to wage theft, send Lebe Law a message to set up a free consultation:

 

Note: Please fill out the fields marked with an asterisk.